Friday, 31 August 2012

Review: Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1) by Stacey Jay


Juliet Capulet and Romeo Montague. Most people see it as a love story, others as a tragedy. In this book, it is a tragedy indeed. Romeo murders Juliet. She becomes an Ambassador of Light and he serves the dark and deadly Mercenary. They have the same job. Live for eternity and take souls for their side.

“She will fight for light, and he for dark, 
Battling through the ages for loves sweet spark. 
Wherever two souls adore truly, you will find them, lo, 
The brave Juliet and the wicked Romeo.” 

But love changes everything when Juliet takes over a girl’s body called Ariel and instantly fells in love with Ben, who is her best friend’s love interest.

 Juliet knows she must stay away from him, but she hasn’t felt like that even with Romeo. Apart from that, both Romeo and Juliet are haunted by dead versions of themselves which means that this time is different. Romeo suggests a way out but Juliet is scared that he’s lying again. 

“And I know that I am. I am his moon, and his brightly shining star. I am his life, his heart. I am all that and the answer to every unspoken question, the comfort for every hurt, the companion who will walk beside him from now until the end of our lives, reveling in the bliss of each simple chore done in his name, overflowing with beauty because I am blessed to spend my life with my love.”

She knows she’s too close to finish her mission…or not? Ben’s aura is red but not for Ariel’s friend, Gemma, who might be interested in Ben but her heart has already found her soul mate.
 Just a hint… both Romeo and Juliet are given a second chance to love again, for real this time.

“I take his hand and pull him back to me, stealing another kiss, smiling against his lips as he kisses me back.
And kisses me again.
And then some more.
And I know he is mine. For now, for the rest of our lives, no matter what comes next.” 

For true love believers, this is the book for them! synopsis:

Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's "Shiver" and Becca Fitzpatrick's "Hush" will relish this intense paranormal love story featuring Romeo and Juliet, literary history's most tragic couple, who meet again, not as true lovers, but truly as enemies. 
The most tragic love story in history . . . 
Juliet Capulet didn't take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn't anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she's fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she's forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love. 
"These violent delights have violent ends
And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, 
Which as they kiss consume."
"--Romeo and Juliet" by William Shakespeare

Rating: 4 stars
Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1)
Pages: 307
Published August 9th 2011 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

                                                                         Romeo Redeemed (Juliet Immortal  #2) synopsis:

All will be revealed for fans who have breathlessly awaited the sizzling sequel to Juliet Immortal. This time Romeo takes center stage and gets one chance, and one chance only, to redeem himself.

Cursed to live out eternity in his rotted corpse, Romeo, known for his ruthless, cutthroat ways, is given the chance to redeem himself by traveling back in time to save the life of Ariel Dragland. Unbeknownst to her, Ariel is important to both the evil Mercenaries and the love-promoting Ambassadors and holds the fate of the world in her hands. Romeo must win her heart and make her believe in love, turning her away from her darker potential before his work is discovered by the Mercenaries. While his seduction begins as yet another lie, it soon becomes his only truth. Romeo vows to protect Ariel from harm, and do whatever it takes to win her heart and soul. But when Ariel is led to believe his love is a deception, she becomes vulnerable to Mercenary manipulation, and her own inner darkness may ultimately rip them apart.

Expected publication: October 9th 2012 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Author: Stacey Jay
Official Website:


  1. I loved Juliet Immortal, it was such a great read for me. I just started Romeo Redeemed and am loving it too. A different feel from Juliet but I think I might even like it more than the first one.

    Nice review!

  2. Thank you so much! Unfortunately I have to wait just like everybody else for Romeo Redeemed! :)
    It's just a month away!

  3. Ah, Juliet Immortal was fantastic. If nothing else, that book made me belive in love again and so on. Can't wait to read Romeo Redeemed. :)

    1. You should read it.It's amazing! :)
      Thank you for your comment!